

Editorial

Molecules Best Paper Award 2012

Derek J. McPhee

Editor-in-Chief, MDPI AG Postfach, CH-4005 Basel, Switzerland; E-Mail: mcphee@mdpi.com

Received: 7 February 2012; in revised form: 8 February 2012 / Accepted: 9 February 2012 /

Published: 10 February 2012

Molecules has started to institute a "Best Paper" award to recognize the most outstanding papers in the area of natural products, medicinal chemistry and molecular diversity published in Molecules. We are pleased to announce the first "Molecules Best Paper Award" for 2012. Nominations were selected by the Editor-in-Chief and selected editorial board members from among all the papers published in 2008. Reviews and research papers were evaluated separately. We are pleased to announce that the following three papers have won the Molecules Best Paper Award in 2012:

Article Award:

1st Prize

Sangmin Kim, Jae Hyuck Choi, Jong Bin Kim, Seok Jin Nam, Jung-Hyun Yang, Jung-Han Kim and Jeong Eon Lee

Berberine Suppresses TNF-α-induced MMP-9 and Cell Invasion through Inhibition of AP-1 Activity in MDA-MB-231 Human Breast Cancer Cells

Molecules 2008, 13(12), 2975-2985; doi:10.3390/molecules13122975

Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/1420-3049/13/12/2975/

2nd Prize

Faustine Dubar, Jamal Khalife, Jacques Brocard, Daniel Dive and Christophe Biot

Ferroquine, an Ingenious Antimalarial Drug –Thoughts on the Mechanism of Action *Molecules* **2008**, *13*(11), 2900-2907; doi:10.3390/molecules13112900

Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/1420-3049/13/11/2900/

Molecules 2012, 17 1796

Review Award:

1st Prize

Masakiyo Hosokawa

Structure and Catalytic Properties of Carboxylesterase Isozymes Involved in Metabolic Activation of Prodrugs

Molecules 2008, 13(2), 412-431; doi:10.3390/molecules13020412

Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/1420-3049/13/2/412/

We believe these three exceptional papers represent valuable contributions to *Molecules* and the scientific literature. On behalf of the Prize Awarding Committee and the Editorial Board of *Molecules*, we would like to congratulate these three teams for their excellent work. In recognition for their accomplishment, Drs. Jung-Han Kim and Jeong Eon Lee, Dr. Christophe Biot and Dr. Masakiyo Hosokawa will receive prizes of 1000 CHF, 500 CHF, and 500 CHF, respectively, and the privilege of publishing an additional of their choice paper free of charge in Open Access format in *Molecules*, after the usual peer-review procedure.

Prize Awarding Committee

Editor-in-Chief

Dr. Derek J. McPhee

MDPI AG Postfach, CH-4005 Basel, Switzerland

E-Mail: mcphee@mdpi.com

Editorial Board Member, Section 'Natural Products'

Dr. John A. Beutler

Molecular Targets Laboratory, Bldg 1052 Rm 110 NCI at Frederick, Frederick, MD 21702-1201, USA E-Mail: beutlerj@mail.nih.gov

Editorial Board Member, Section 'Medicinal Chemistry'

Prof. Dr. Jarkko Rautio

School of Pharmacy, University of Eastern Finland, P.O.Box 1627, 70211 Kuopio, Finland E-Mail: jarkko.t.rautio@uef.fi

Editorial Board Member, Section 'Organic Synthesis'

Prof. Dr. Osmo E. O. Hormi

Department of Chemistry, University of Oulu, Linnanmaa, P.O.Box 333, FIN-90570 Oulu, Finland E-Mail: osmo.hormi@oulu.fi

Editorial Board Member, Section 'Molecular Diversity'

Dr. Shu-Kun Lin

MDPI AG, Postfach, CH-4005 Basel, Switzerland. Office: Kandererstrasse 25, 4057 Basel, Switzerland E-Mail: lin@mdpi.com

© 2012 by the authors; licensee MDPI, Basel, Switzerland. This article is an open access article distributed under the terms and conditions of the Creative Commons Attribution license (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/).