

Editorial

Polymers Best Paper Award 2014

Alexander Böker

DWI – Leibniz-Institut für Interaktive Materialien, Lehrstuhl für Makromolekulare Materialien und Oberflächen, RWTH Aachen University, Forckenbeckstrasse 50, D-52056 Aachen, Germany; E-Mail: boker@mdpi.com

Received: 14 January 2014 / Accepted: 16 January 2014 / Published: 21 January 2014

Polymers is instituting an annual award to recognize outstanding papers in the area of polymer science published in *Polymers*.

We are pleased to announce the first "*Polymers* Best Paper Award" for 2014. Nominations were selected by the Editor-in-Chief and Editorial Board members of *Polymers* from all papers published in 2010. The awards are issued to reviews and articles respectively. We are pleased to announce that the following three papers were chosen:

Article Award:

1st Prize

Yuk-Hong Ting, Chi-Chun Liu, Sang-Min Park, Hongquan Jiang, Paul F. Nealey and Amy E. Wendt

Surface Roughening of Polystyrene and Poly(methyl methacrylate) in Ar/O₂ Plasma Etching *Polymers* **2010**, *2*(4), 649-663; doi:10.3390/polym2040649 Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/2073-4360/2/4/649

2nd Prize

Mariano Pracella, Md. Minhaz-Ul Haque and Vera Alvarez

Functionalization, Compatibilization and Properties of Polyolefin Composites with Natural Fibers *Polymers* **2010**, *2*(4), 554-574; doi:10.3390/polym2040554 Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/2073-4360/2/4/554

Review Award:

Gilberto Siqueira, Julien Bras and Alain Dufresne

Cellulosic Bionanocomposites: A Review of Preparation, Properties and Applications *Polymers* **2010**, *2*(4), 728-765; doi:10.3390/polym2040728 Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/2073-4360/2/4/728

Fortunately, the Prize Awarding Committee could choose from a large number of high quality publications, so that the selection was a difficult task. Finally, we have identified contributions which represent basic as well as application-oriented research. Moreover, the review which was awarded has already made significant impact in the respective field and is a nice example of the international recognition of open access publishing.

On behalf of the Prize Awarding Committee and the Editorial Board of *Polymers*, I would like to congratulate these three teams on their excellent work. In recognition of their accomplishment, for the awarded articles, Dr. Amy Wendt and Dr. Mariano Pracella will receive prizes of 600 CHF and 400 CHF, respectively, and the opportunity to publish an additional paper free of charge in open access format in *Polymers*, after the usual peer-review procedure. For his review, Dr. Alain Dufresne will be given the opportunity to publish a research article free of charge in *Polymers* after the usual peer-review process.

Prize Awarding Committee

Editor-in-Chief

Prof. Dr. Alexander Böker

DWI – Leibniz-Institut für Interaktive Materialien, Lehrstuhl für Makromolekulare Materialien und Oberflächen, RWTH Aachen University, Forckenbeckstrasse 50, D-52056 Aachen, Germany E-Mail: boker@mdpi.com

Editorial Board Members

Prof. Dr. Martin Kröger

Polymer Physics, Department of Materials, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, ETH Zurich, Wolfgang-Pauli-Str. 10, CH-8093 Zurich, Switzerland E-Mail: mk@mat.ethz.ch

Prof. Dr. Katja Loos

Department of Polymer Chemistry, Zernike Institute for Advanced Materials, University of Groningen, Nijenborgh 4, 9747 AG Groningen, The Netherlands E-Mail: k.u.loos@rug.nl

Prof. Dr. George R. Newkome

Departments of Polymer Science & Chemistry, The University of Akron, Akron, OH 44325-4717, USA E-Mail: newkome@uakron.edu

Prof. Dr. Ben Zhong Tang

Department of Chemsitry, The Hong Kong University of Science & Technology, Clear Water Bay, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China E-Mail: tangbenz@ust.hk

Prof. Dr. Philipp Vana

Makromolekulare Chemie, Institut für Physikalische Chemie, Georg-August-Universität Göttingen, Tammannstraße 6, D-37077 Göttingen, Germany E-Mail: pvana@uni-goettingen.de

Dr. Wei Min Huang

School of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Nanyang Technological University, 50 Nanyang Avenue, 639798, Singapore E-Mail: mwmhuang@ntu.edu.sg

 \bigcirc 2014 by the authors; licensee MDPI, Basel, Switzerland. This article is an open access article distributed under the terms and conditions of the Creative Commons Attribution license (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/).