

Editorial

Pathogens Best Paper Awards for 2015

Lawrence S. Young

Pro-Vice Chancellor, Warwick Medical School, University of Warwick, Coventry CV4 7AL, UK; E-Mail: L.S.Young@warwick.ac.uk

Received: 12 June 2015 / Accepted: 12 June 2015 / Published: 15 June 2015

Pathogens is instituting annual awards to recognize the most outstanding papers in the areas of all aspects of pathogens and pathogen-host interactions published in *Pathogens*.

We are pleased to announce the recipients of the first "*Pathogens* Best Paper Awards". Nominations were selected by the Editor-in-Chief and several Editorial Board members of *Pathogens* from all original research articles published in 2013 or 2014.

We are pleased to announce that the following three papers were chosen to receive "*Pathogens* Best Paper Awards" for 2015. I congratulate all of the authors and thank them for their significant and important contributions to the field of pathogens. I also thank the members of the Selection Committee for their efforts.

Article Award

First Prize

Eric W. Rogier, Aubrey L. Frantz, Maria E. C. Bruno and Charlotte S. Kaetzel

Secretory IgA is Concentrated in the Outer Layer of Colonic Mucus along with Gut Bacteria *Pathogens* **2014**, *3*(2), 390-403; doi:10.3390/pathogens3020390

Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/2076-0817/3/2/390

Second Prize

Anthony F. Barbet, Basima Al-Khedery, Snorre Stuen, Erik G. Granquist, Roderick F. Felsheim and Ulrike G. Munderloh

An Emerging Tick-Borne Disease of Humans Is Caused by a Subset of Strains with Conserved Genome Structure

Pathogens **2013**, *2*(3), 544-555; doi:10.3390/pathogens2030544 Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/2076-0817/2/3/544 Pathogens 2015, 4 388

Third Prize

Philippe Gérard

Metabolism of Cholesterol and Bile Acids by the Gut Microbiota *Pathogens* **2014**, *3*(1), 14-24; doi:10.3390/pathogens3010014 Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/2076-0817/3/1/14

Award Selection Committee

Editor-in-Chief

Prof. Dr. Lawrence S. Young

Pro-Vice Chancellor, Warwick Medical School, University of Warwick, Coventry CV4 7AL, UK E-Mail: L.S.Young@warwick.ac.uk

Editorial Board Member

Dr. Jean-Pierre Gorvel

Centre d'immunologie de Marseille Luminy, Case 906, 13288 Marseille, CEDEX 09, France E-Mail: gorvel@ciml.univ-mrs.fr

Editorial Board Member

Prof. Dr. Moriya Tsuji

HIV and Malaria Vaccine Program, Aaron Diamond AIDS Research Center, Affiliate of The Rockefeller University, 455 First Ave, Room 747, New York, NY 10016, USA E-Mail: mtsuji@adarc.org

Editorial Board Member

Prof. Dr. Howard F. Jenkinson

University of Bristol, School of Oral and Dental Sciences, Lower Maudlin Street, Bristol, BS1 2LY, UK

E-Mail: Howard.Jenkinson@bristol.ac.uk

Editorial Board Member

Prof. Dr. Jean E. Crabtree

Molecular Gastroenterology Section, Leeds Institute of Molecular Medicine, Wellcome Trust Brenner Building, St. James's University Hospital, Leeds LS9 7TF, UK

E-Mail: J.Crabtree@leeds.ac.uk

Pathogens 2015, 4 389

Editorial Board Member

Dr. Frank Lafont

Center of Infection and Immunity of Lille, Institut Pasteur de Lille-CNRS UMR8204-INSERM U1019- 1 rue du Prof Calmette, F-59021 Lille, France

E-Mail: frank.lafont@pasteur-lille.fr

© 2015 by the authors; licensee MDPI, Basel, Switzerland. This article is an open access article distributed under the terms and conditions of the Creative Commons Attribution license (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/).