

Editorial

Molecules Best Paper Award 2013

Derek J. McPhee

Editor-in-Chief, MDPI AG, Postfach, CH-4005 Basel, Switzerland; E-Mail: mcphee@mdpi.com

Received: 25 January 2013; in revised form: 25 January 2013 / Accepted: 4 February 2013 /

Published: 5 February 2013

Molecules has started to institute a "Best Paper" award to recognize the most outstanding papers in the area of natural products, medicinal chemistry and molecular diversity published in *Molecules*. We are pleased to announce the second "*Molecules* Best Paper Award" for 2013. Candidates were chosen by the Editor-in-Chief and selected editorial board members from among all the papers published in 2009. Reviews and research papers were evaluated separately. We are pleased to announce that the following five papers have won the *Molecules* Best Paper Award in 2013:

Article Award:

1st Prize

Thomas J. Schmidt, Amal M. M. Nour, Sami A. Khalid, Marcel Kaiser and Reto Brun

Quantitative Structure—Antiprotozoal Activity Relationships of Sesquiterpene Lactones *Molecules* **2009**, *14*(6), 2062-2076; doi:10.3390/molecules14062062 Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/1420-3049/14/6/2062

2nd Prize

Sebastian Jäger, Holger Trojan, Thomas Kopp, Melanie N. Laszczyk and Armin Scheffler

Pentacyclic Triterpene Distribution in Various Plants—Rich Sources for a New Group of Multi-Potent Plant Extracts

Molecules **2009**, *14*(6), 2016-2031; doi:10.3390/molecules14062016 Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/1420-3049/14/6/2016

3nd Prize

Linghua Meng, Yves F. Lozano, Emile M. Gaydou and Bin Li

Antioxidant Activities of Polyphenols Extracted from *Perilla frutescens* Varieties *Molecules* **2009**, *14*(1), 133-140; doi:10.3390/molecules14010133

Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/1420-3049/14/1/133

Molecules 2013, 18 2082

Review Award:

1st Prize

Barbara Vu, Miao Chen, Russell J. Crawford and Elena P. Ivanova

Bacterial Extracellular Polysaccharides Involved in Biofilm Formation *Molecules* **2009**, *14*(7), 2535-2554; doi:10.3390/molecules14072535 Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/1420-3049/14/7/2535

2nd Prize

Ichiro Minami

Ionic Liquids in Tribology Bacterial *Molecules* **2009**, *14*(6), 2286-2305; doi:10.3390/molecules14062286 Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/1420-3049/14/6/2286

The prize awarding committee merits the article "Quantitative Structure—Antiprotozoal Activity Relationships of Sesquiterpene Lactones" as "...they did not overstate the case for the compounds as antiparasitics, they tested a nice selection of sesquiterpene lactones and tested multiple parasites...". The article "Pentacyclic Triterpene Distribution in Various Plants—Rich Sources for a New Group of Multi-Potent Plant Extracts" was "...a well written paper describing in depth work on the heretofore neglected pentacyclic triterpenes and their biological activities...". The review "Bacterial Extracellular Polysaccharides Involved in Biofilm Formation" provided "...a timely review on a topic whose importance in infectious diseases and bacterial resistence is increasing ...".

We believe these five exceptional papers represent valuable contributions to *Molecules* and the scientific literature. On behalf of the Prize Awarding Committee and the Editorial Board of *Molecules*, we would like to congratulate these five teams for their excellent work. In recognition for their accomplishment, Dr. Thomas J. Schmidt, Dr. Sebastian Jäger and Dr. Yves F. Lozano will receive prizes of 1,000, 800 and 600 CHF, respectively, and the privilege of publishing an additional open access format paper of their choice free of charge in *Molecules*. Dr. Elena P. Ivanova and Dr. Ichiro Minami will be awarded the privilege of publishing an additional research paper free of charge in open access format in *Molecules*.

Prize Awarding Committee

Editor-in-Chief

Dr. Derek J. McPhee

MDPI AG, Postfach, CH-4005 Basel, Switzerland

E-Mail: mcphee@mdpi.com

Editorial Board Member, Section 'Natural Products'

Dr. John A. Beutler

Molecular Targets Laboratory, Bldg 1052 Rm 110 NCI at Frederick, Frederick, MD 21702-1201, USA E-Mail: beutlerj@mail.nih.gov

Molecules 2013, 18 2083

Editorial Board Member, Section 'Medicinal Chemistry'

Prof. Dr. Jarkko Rautio

School of Pharmacy, University of Eastern Finland, P.O. Box 1627, 70211 Kuopio, Finland E-Mail: jarkko.t.rautio@uef.fi

Editorial Board Member, Section 'Organic Synthesis'

Prof. Dr. Osmo E. O. Hormi

Department of Chemistry, University of Oulu, Linnanmaa, P.O.Box 333, FIN-90570 Oulu, Finland E-Mail: osmo.hormi@oulu.fi

© 2013 by the authors; licensee MDPI, Basel, Switzerland. This article is an open access article distributed under the terms and conditions of the Creative Commons Attribution license (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/).