

Editorial

Materials Best Paper Award 2015

Maryam Tabrizian

Department of Biomedical Engineering, Faculty of Medicine/Faculty of Dentistry, Duff Medical Science Building, McGill University, 3775 University Street, Montreal, QC H3A 2B4, Canada; E-Mail: maryam.tabrizian@mcgill.ca

Received: 13 February 2015 / Accepted: 13 February 2015 / Published: 17 February 2015

Materials has established an annual award for the best article and for the best review published in *Materials* in order to acknowledge the outstanding contributions of our authors in the area of materials science and engineering.

Papers were selected by the Editors-in-Chief of *Materials* from among all articles and reviews published in 2011. We are now pleased to announce the five winners for the second edition of "*Materials* Best Paper Award" for 2015:

Article Award:

First Prize

Nieves Espinosa, Henrik Friis Dam, David M. Tanenbaum, Jens W. Andreasen, Mikkel Jørgensen and Frederik C. Krebs

Roll-to-Roll Processing of Inverted Polymer Solar Cells using Hydrated Vanadium(V)Oxide as a PEDOT:PSS Replacement

Materials **2011**, *4*(1), 169–182; doi:10.3390/ma4010169 Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/1996-1944/4/1/169

Second Prize

Shingo Tachikawa, Atsushi Noguchi, Takeharu Tsuge, Masahiko Hara, Osamu Odawara and Hiroyuki Wada

Optical Properties of ZnO Nanoparticles Capped with Polymers *Materials* **2011**, *4*(6), 1132–1143; doi:10.3390/ma4061132 Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/1996-1944/4/6/1132

Materials **2015**, 8

Third Prize

Luigi Russo, Francesco Colangelo, Raffaele Cioffi, Ilaria Rea and Luca De Stefano

A Mechanochemical Approach to Porous Silicon Nanoparticles Fabrication *Materials* **2011**, *4*(6), 1023–1033; doi:10.3390/ma4061023 Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/1996-1944/4/6/1023

Review Award:

First Prize

Kirill V. Axenov and Sabine Laschat

Thermotropic Ionic Liquid Crystals *Materials* **2011**, *4*(1), 206–259; doi:10.3390/ma4010206 Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/1996-1944/4/1/206

Second Prize

Gerrard Eddy Jai Poinern, Nurshahidah Ali and Derek Fawcett

Progress in Nano-Engineered Anodic Aluminum Oxide Membrane Development *Materials* **2011**, *4*(3), 487–526; doi:10.3390/ma4030487 Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/1996-1944/4/3/487

The *Materials* journal team congratulates the authors of these five exceptional papers and acknowledges their valuable contributions to *Materials* and to our scientific community. In recognition of their accomplishments, Dr. Frederik C. Krebs, Dr. Hiroyuki Wada and Dr. Luca De Stefano, our awardees for their original contributions, will receive 600 CHF, 400 CHF and 200 CHF respectively. In addition, *Materials* will offer them the publication of a paper in *Materials* free of charge in open access format after the usual peer-review procedure. The publication of one research paper free of charge in *Materials* will also be offered to Dr. Sabine Laschat and Dr. Gerrard Eddy Jai Poinern, the winners of the Best Review Papers award.

Prize Awarding Committee

Editor-in-Chief

Prof. Dr. Maryam Tabrizian

Department of Biomedical Engineering, Faculty of Medicine/Faculty of Dentistry, Duff Medical Science Building, McGill University, 3775 University Street, Montreal, QC H3A 2B4, Canada; E-Mail: maryam.tabrizian@mcgill.ca

Materials **2015**, *8*

Editor-in-Chief, Section "Biomaterials"

Prof. Dr. Aldo R. Boccaccini

Institute of Biomaterials, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, 91058 Erlangen, Germany E-Mail: aldo.boccaccini@ww.uni-erlangen.de

Editor-in-Chief, Section "Advanced Composites"

Prof. Dr. Luciano Feo

Department of Civil Engineering and Nano_Mates Center, University of Salerno, 84084 Fisciano (SA), Italy E-Mail: l.feo@unisa.it

Editor-in-Chief, Section "Structure Analysis and Characterization"

Prof. Dr. Jung Ho Je

Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Pohang University of Science and Technology, San 31 Hyojadong, Pohang 790-784, Korea E-Mail: jhje@postech.ac.kr

Editor-in-Chief, Section "Porous Materials"

Prof. Dr. Rafael Luque

Departamento de Quimica Organica, Universidad de Cordoba, Campus de Rabanales, Edificio C-3 (Marie Curie-Anexo), Carretera Nacional IV-A, Km. 396, 14014 Cordoba, Spain E-Mail: q62alsor@uco.es

© 2015 by the authors; licensee MDPI, Basel, Switzerland. This article is an open access article distributed under the terms and conditions of the Creative Commons Attribution license (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/).